Circuit Court

Mississippi’s Circuit Courts hear felony criminal prosecutions and civil lawsuits. Circuit Courts hear appeals from County, Justice and Municipal courts and from administrative boards and commissions such as the Workers’ Compensation Commission and the Mississippi Department of Employment Security.

The Third Circuit Judicial District Court serves Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Lafayette, Marshall, Tippah and Union counties.


Circuit Court judges are selected in non-partisan elections to serve four-year terms. Trials are heard with a 12-member jury and two alternate jurors. A judge may preside without a jury if the dispute is a question of law rather than fact.

Contact Information

Brett Thomas
Staff Attorney and Court Administrator (Judge Tollison)
Department: Circuit Court
Address: 1 Courthouse Square, Suite 301, Oxford, MS 38655
Telephone: (662) 234-3013

Irene Strickland
Court Administrator (Judge Smith)
Department: Circuit Court
Address: PO Box 670, Holly Springs, MS 38635
Telephone: (662) 252-6311

Christy Adair
Court Administrator (Judge Luther)
Department: Circuit Court
Address: 102 N. Main Street, Ripley, MS 38663
Telephone: (662) 837-7884


Related Pages

Circuit Clerk