Voting and Elections

The information and dates listed on this page are derived from the Mississippi Secretary of State’s Election Page

Lafayette County Precinct Locations

Map of Polling Locations

Voter Registration Form

Who is my election commissioner?

Lafayette County Election Commissioners


When is election day?

General Election day is Tuesday, November 8, 2022. Polls open at 7:00 a.m. and close at 7:00 p.m.

Runoff date: Tuesday, November 29, 2022 Polls open at 7:00 a.m. and close at 7:00 p.m.


What is the deadline to register to vote?

You must be registered to vote 30 days before any election. The deadline to register for the November 8, 2022 general election is October 10, 2022 and October 31, 2022 for the November 29, 2022 runoff election.

  • Applicants who register in person must be registered by 5:00 PM October 10, 2022 or earlier for the general election.
  • Registration applications that are mailed in must be postmarked no later than 5:00 PM October 10, 2022 for the general election to be eligible.


How do I register to vote?

In Mississippi, you can register to vote in person or by mail.

  • To register in person in Lafayette County, please visit the Circuit Clerk’s office.
  • To register by mail, download this voter registration form: Fill out the form and mail or hand-deliver to the Circuit Clerk’s office at 1 Courthouse Sq., Ste. 101 Oxford, MS 38655.
  • Mississippi does not offer online voter registration.


How old must I be to register to vote?

You can be 17 to register to vote, but you must be 18 by November 8, 2022, to participate in the 2022 general election.


What if I need to change my address?

To update your address by mail, download this voter registration form: Fill out the form and mail or hand-deliver to the Circuit Clerk’s office at 1 Courthouse Sq., Ste. 101 Oxford, MS 38655 or visit the Circuit Clerk’s office.


Can I early vote?

Mississippi does not currently allow voters to early vote.


How do I absentee vote?

Absentee ballots for the November 29, 2022 runoff election will be available November 19, 2022 at the Cicuit Clerk’s office. You can absentee vote in-person at the Circuit Clerk’s offce or can request an absentee ballot to vote by mail. An absentee voter guide can be found here.  If you have any questions, please contact the Circuit Clerk’s office: 662-234-4951.

Absentee Voting Dates for the November 29, 2022 runoff election.

  • Saturday, November 19, 2022: 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • Monday, November 21 – Wednesday, November 23, 2022: 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
  • OFFICES CLOSED November 24-25, 2022
  • Saturday, November 26, 2022: 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. (Last day to absentee vote in-person.)

Mail-In absentee ballots must be postmarked on or before 5:00 p.m. on Saturday, November 29, 2022.


What do I need to bring with me to vote?

You will need to bring a form of government-issued photo identification to the polls. Acceptable forms of identification include:

  • A driver’s license
  • A photo ID card issued by a branch, department, or entity of the State of Mississippi
  • A United States passport
  • A government employee ID card
  • A firearms license
  • A student photo ID issued by an accredited Mississippi university, college, or community/junior college
  • A United States military ID
  • A tribal photo ID
  • Any other photo ID issued by any branch, department, agency or entity of the United States government or any State government
  • A Mississippi Voter Identification Card

If you are not able to provide this form of identification, the Circuit Clerk’s Office can provide you with a Voter Identification Card free of charge.


Where can I find information about voting if I am in the military or voting from overseas?

The Mississippi Secretary of State maintains information about these: Military and Overseas Voter Information


Where do I vote?

Lafayette County Precinct Locations

Lafayette County Voting Precincts: Precincts 1-3 Map Precincts 4-5 Map

Oxford 1: Extension Office, 70 F.D. “Buddy” East Parkway (County Road 406), Oxford, MS
Denmark-Lafayette Springs-Pine Bluff: Fire Station #11, 11 County Road 287, Oxford, MS
Yocona Community Center: 826 Highway 334, Oxford, MS

Oxford 2: Oxford Conference Center 102 Ed Perry Blvd., Oxford, MS
Philadelphia: Philadelphia Community Center, 1303 Highway 30 East, Etta, MS

Oxford 3: Stone Recreation Center, 423 Washington Ave., Oxford, MS
Abbeville: Springfield M.B. Church, 62 County Road 106, Abbeville, MS
College Hill: College Hill Community Center, 10 County Road 130, Oxford, MS
Taylor 3: Taylor Community Center, 78 County Road 338, Taylor, MS

Oxford 4: Lafayette Civic Club, 14 Tommie Collie Jane Road, Oxford, MS
Burgess: Clear Creek Baptist Church, 46 CR 313, Oxford, MS
Anchor-Taylor 4: Green’s Shop, 177 County Road 376, Water Valley, MS
Union West: Fire Station #16, 823 County Road 313, Oxford, MS
Harmontown: Fire Station #1, 599 Highway 310, Como, MS

Oxford 5: Voting Precinct 501, 101 Center Ridge Drive (Highway 7 South), Oxford, MS
Paris: Fire Station #14, 31 County Road 430, Paris, MS
Tula: Fire Station #6, 153 County Road 436, Oxford, MS
Airport Grocery: Fire Station #3, 15 County Road 369, Oxford, MS 38655

How can I become a poll worker?

Poll working is an integral part of the voting process. Ensuring a safe, reliable and streamlined environment helps voters and election officials. To understand how you can get involved, visit:

Where can I get information about being a candidate for election or petitions for referenda?

Please visit the Mississippi Secretary of State website for information about candidate qualifications, finances, lobbying, and referenda.

Where can I find more information?

Additional information regarding voting procedure can be found on the Secretary of State’s website or by contacting the Circuit Clerk’s office at (662) 234-4951.

Related Pages

Circuit Clerk

Election Commission